The main focus of the player page is commenting and collaborating.
Play the video by pressing the spacebar or clicking the play button. When typing a comment, by default the video will pause so you can get your thought out and also timestamp your comment.
Type @ to mention a specific team member or collaborator. Mentioning a team member that is not already added to the project as a collaborator will automatically add them for you, learn more about adding Team Members to projects here 👍
Users you mention will receive an email notification and an in-app notification will appear in the Web App and Mac App integration for FCPX
While push notifications will be sent to users on the Frame.io iOS app 📱
To submit your comment, click Send or press the Enter key, once it's sent the clip will resume playing.
Comments can also be sent without being timestamped if needed by clicking the checkmark on the left.
Team only comments:
Team only comments are like private/internal notes that are only visible to other team members on the account.
Only team members are able to leave team only comments; collaborators and reviewers will not see these internal comments.
Team only comments will appear in a gold hue with a lock icon 🔒
Team members can also filter between comment types within the comment sort order menu which means you also have a choice of including or excluding team only comments when downloading comments as TXT, CSV, or XML.
NOTE: Team Only Comments are a premium feature. If you would like to unlock this feature, please contact support 🙌
Going deeper with commenting, if you want to further communicate your idea after you have typed in your comment, select the paint brush tool to draw directly on the video with different shapes and colors. The drawings do not affect the original uploaded file.
Going through short clips? Select Loop to continuously play.
Comments can be managed, organized and completed in the comments bar.
Learn more here
Quick File Access:
Switch files within the same folder by clicking Slider Icon at the top middle, then click the file to quickly jump into the player of another clip.
Choose from Approved, In Progress or Needs Review. Once you select one of these labels, a notification will be sent to all users on the project.
Note: If users on the project do don't want to receive these notifications, they can turn off email notifications for "Media Status Updated" in their project settings.
There are two ways to share clips. Share as a Review gives access to share certain files within a project, allowing for comments without users needing to logging in. Only Team Members can share Review links.
Share as a Presentation page is solely for the purpose of presenting clips for viewing and downloading without commenting.
Learn more here
When selecting More Options, download the original clip or a smaller proxy.
Learn more here
Presence and View History:
Presence displays the users who are currently viewing the asset or who has already viewed it. A green indicator shows who is actively viewing the clip with you. See the last time someone has viewed the asset by hovering over their avatar. Or, click on any avatar to get the full detailed list.
Presence is not available on Review Pages or Presentation Pages.
While on the player page, click the Asset Slider to see the other files within that folder without going back to the Project view. When the Asset Slider is closed, hold Cmd + Shift + left/right to navigate between assets.