In this Article we'll cover:

  • Joining a project
  • Viewing an asset and leaving Comments
  • Uploading Files

Joining a Project

Join the project by clicking the join link from your email invitation. You'll be prompted to enter your email address and create a password.

Once you sign in you'll see the account listed on the left hand side. If you're added to multiple projects or teams from different accounts, you'll see more than one icon here. Click or hover on the icons to display the account name:

You're now ready to collaborate 🎉

Click on the project name to open the project. Hover scrubs are created for videos and thumbnails for your still images. Non-media file types will be identified with a file icon.

Viewing an asset and Leaving Comments

To view a video or image, double-click on the thumbnail to open the asset in the Frame.io player page.

When viewing a video, press the spacebar or click the play button to start the clip. 

Typing in the comment box will pause the video, allowing you to get your thought out. Press the enter key or send to submit, the timestamped comment and the video will resume playing.  

To further communicate your idea, select the paint brush or shape tool while leaving a comment and draw directly on the video. Annotating does not impact the original uploaded file.

To leave a general comment on clips without a timestamp, uncheck the timecode box.

Uploading files to the Project

Upload videos, still images or audio, by dragging them from your desktop directly onto the project.
Or, select New > File upload on the top right of the project. 

Upload folders from your computer while retaining the folder structure 🎉

No need to pre-compress the files. Upload full-res and pro-res files. Frame.io uses an accelerated file uploader which allows for speeds up to 5 times faster than the top file sharing services.

💡Frame.io Top Tip:

 Be sure to adjust your project notifications. You can disable any email notifications under your Project SettingsYou can also adjust your email digest frequency

FAQ

Q: Why am I seeing a warning message when attempting to join a project?
A: You may be logged into a different account than one the Admin invited you with. Make sure it's the same email address that was invited to the project, otherwise you won't have access to the project.

Q: Are there any restrictions a collaborator should be aware of if invited to a project?
A: Collaborators can upload files and delete their own files but they won't have access to delete any files they didn't upload themselves.

Skip Ahead:

Did this answer your question?