Understanding your Frame.io Team
Your Frame.io Team is made up of the projects you and your Team Members have created.
We can see here that the Team “Starburst” has 4 Projects: Blues, Burst!, Chocolate and Express.
Users can be invited to the Starburst Team as Team Members and they will have access to all 4 projects on this Team.
You may also be working with a client who will only be working on one of these projects. You can add that user to the project as a Collaborator.
The same Collaborator can be invited to all projects individually but they will have limited permissions.
Team Members are users that are invited to join your overall account. They will have access to all the projects within your teams, except ones that have been specifically marked as Private.
They can create new projects and can invite collaborators to projects on your team.
These users would be your internal team, or users who will always be working on your team's projects and assist in your team's organization. They are typically your trusted work colleagues.
Collaborators are users you invite to a specific project(s) on your Team. They will not have access to, or have any visibility into other projects on your team unless you add them to other projects.
They cannot view any files or folders that are marked as Private and they cannot share any files from the Project.
Collaborators already have limited permissions in your project however, you can disable downloading permissions along with disabling their ability to invite other collaborators to the project. These permissions are available under Project Settings.
Typically, Collaborators are vendors or external contributors you work with on certain projects. Another way to think of Collaborators is that they are users whose access you want to be able to control.
💡 Frame.io Top Tip!
If specific users only need to view clips and leave their comments, send them a Review Page rather than adding them as a Collaborator to the project. Review links are ideal for external clients.
These scenarios may help understand the differences:
You are an editor, working on projects for multiple clients or for your own company.
Gill is a Colorist who works with your team on certain jobs. She only needs access to projects on a per-project basis. She won't need access to all projects you're working on. Gill just needs to be able to view the files within this project, upload files and leave comments.
Gill should be added as a Collaborator on the projects she's contributing on.
You are an Editor at an agency that works with external clients. Erin is the Creative Director of a company you are cutting an ad for. She will need to be able to comment, review, and contribute assets to your project, but she should not have access to projects you are working on for other clients.
Erin should be added as a Collaborator to the projects she is contributing on.
Brett is the Producer. He's working on most of your projects. He'll need to have access to add/remove other collaborators and to be able to create his own projects on your team and to share any files on these projects.
Brett should be added as a Member to your Team.
❗ Note: A seat refers to both Collaborators and Team Members. Every Collaborator or Team Member you invite requires a paid seat.